Home / Business News / Top Kenya Business Leaders Honoured By Kibaki

Top Kenya Business Leaders Honoured By Kibaki

President Kibaki has honoured business leaders for economic development role. Leading local business and private sector leaders from diverse sectors have received state commendations in recognition of their outstanding contribution to nation building.

In a tribute to business leaders, entrepreneurs and academicians this year’s national commendations handed to 180 individuals who have excelled in various disciplines features some of the leading business lights and academicians.

As part of the 48th Jamhuri Day Celebrations, the First Class Chief of the Order of the Burning Spear (C.B.S) were awarded to;







Kenyatta University Vice Chancellor Prof. Olive Mugenda










Equity Bank Group Chairman Peter Munga







Equity Bank Group Managing Director Dr James Mwangi








Bidco Industries CEO Vimal Shah

Alongside the finance and manufacturing services gurus, Communications Sector Investor and entrepreneur Mr. Koome Mwambia leads the pack for business leaders bestowed with the second class Elder of the Order of the Burning Spear (E.B.S) which also features SBO Research Managing Director Ms Catherine Ngahu, Housing Finance, Managing Director Frank Ireri, Family Bank, Chairman Titus Muya, Britak CEO, Benson Wairegi and Riva Petroleum Founder Eng. Peter Njagi.

While commenting on his National award, Mwambia who is also the Chief Executive Officer at Ogilvy Kenya Group described the honour as a fitting national celebration for business leaders in recognition of their economic development contribution.

“The continued recognition to commercial sector players, particularly the drivers of business in both private and public sectors inspires young emerging leaders as well as celebrates our role in advancing Kenya’s national economic interests” Mwambia affirmed.
Other business leaders awarded the Moran of the Order of the Burning Spear medal included: KICC Managing Director Beatrice Makawiti, KEPSA chairman Patrick Obath, Senior Counsel Fred Ojiambo Industrial Development Bank Capital Ltd Managing Director James Karanja, Co-Op Bank Group Managing Director Gideon Muriuki and Kenya Association of Manufacturers CEO Betty Maina.

Youthful Safaricom Technical Services General Manager Ms Betty Thuo, and Globetrack International Managing Director Esther Kagiri were also bestowed with MBS medals for their role in the ICT development field.

From the parastatal sector, Kenya Ports Authority Managing Director Francis Ndua Gichiri, ADC MD William Kirwa, Geothermal Development Company CEO Dr Silas Simiyu, and Kenya National Highways Authority Director General Meshack Kidenda also received MBS medals.

Who do you believe was left out by Kibaki?

Photo Courtesy of businessdailyafrica.com & in2eastafrica.net

About Enock Kiprono

Enock Kiprono is the founder of Fenesi.com & Dealpoa.com. He loves to connect with entrepreneurs that are success driven, passionate, action-taking whose goal is to make a difference in the business world!

Check Also

WEEC Awards

Kenya Scoops Several WEEC Awards In Washington DC

Kenya has done it again! In a colourful glitzy ceremony to recognize individuals and corporates ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *